In October 2015, the Association for the Promotion and Exhibition of the Arts in Lebanon (APEAL) launched an architectural competition for the planning and design of a new Modern and Contemporary art museum in Beirut, the Beirut Museum of Art (BeMA).

The museum is to serve as the anchor along Beirut's new 'Museum Mile', the location of the National Museum and Museum of Lebanese Prehistory, the Mineral Museum (MiM), Beit Beirut (House of Beirut) and the Beirut City History Museum. Though being built on a site owned by the city’s Université Saint Joseph, the museum will be private and independent.


After a year-long competition that began in October 2015, thirteen architects' designs were shortlisted by an international jury chaired by Lord (Peter) Palumbo, Chairman of The Pritzker Prize for Architecture. The jury included curators Hans-Ulrich Obrist and Dame Julia Peyton-Jones; architects George Arbid, Dr. Farès el-Dahdah, Dr. Rodolphe El-Khoury, Rem Koolhaas and Lord Richard Rogers; artist Lamia Joreige and APEAL President, Henrietta Nammour. The late Zaha Hadid, who was active on the jury until she passed away in 2015, remains an honorary member.

  • Shortlisted architecture firms: 109 Architects SARL, DW5 SAL, WGRART LLC, HW Architecture, Ibda Design, IDC CO.LTD, ETEC, Berner Johnson, L.E.FT Aerchitects, Lina Ghotmeh, Najjar & Najjar Architects, Raed Abillama Architects, Sarch SARL, Work Architecture Company,Yatsu Chahal Architects.